top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElla Morash

Descriptive Writing

I sit here looking at the sun subtly set over the trees, casting a golden light over eastern Africa. It feels safe and warm; I feel happiness. I have waited years for my research position to come, and now I am here living the dream, my dream, of advocating, learning and exploring. I am doing what the younger me wanted. What an ecstatic feeling, knowing the person you once were, the person still inside you, is getting to live her dream, I can only hope she is proud. I look over to see my research mentor standing in front of the tiny, creaky doorway of her small, humble home for the week. She assertively calls my class in for the night, but I want five more minutes to bottle it up and save this feeling forever. I look at the giraffes grazing the trees and surrounding plants and see the small yellow oxpeckers fluttering around them. I can even see a faint shadow far away. Maybe that is the leader of an elephant parade, or maybe it is a cheetah hunting prey, That is what I love about nature: you aren't always sure, and you never know all that animals think and do. There are so many lives, memories, traditions, life cycles, cultures, and freedom surrounding me, that I can barely feel it all at once. I am excited for tomorrow when we will head south to spot some more elephants and maybe even a jaguar, but here is good for right now.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page